Minnesota Insurance License

Minnesota Insurance License

Becoming an insurance agent can be considered a worthwhile investment as it offers many opportunities. To become one and have your name on the Minnesota Department of license lookup, you should certainly get your insurance license. Nonetheless, it is not a finger-snap process. There are certain requirements attached to the process.

How do I get my insurance license in Minnesota?

To obtain a license to sell insurance, the licensing process should be completed. It includes a few obligatory stages.
Pre-licensing education is the key. You are to choose between online or offline courses. You must complete the following hours:

  • 20 Hours on Life
  • 20 Hours on Property
  • 20 Hours on Casualty
  • 20 Hours on Health
  • 20 Hours on Personal lines

Once you are done with the pre-licensing courses, you will receive a certificate of completion. Keep this certificate. You will need it for the upcoming stage.
The next stage of licensing is passing the state licensing examination. You must take only one exam for each line of insurance you want to specialize in.

Register in advance to take the exam here. The exam fee is $39.

Getting fingerprinted and passing the background check is the other stage. If you have criminal past, that might affect your licensing efforts. After passing the Minnesota insurance license exam, the last stage is applying for the license. You can submit an application here. Once you are a licensed insurance agent, it is preferable to complete continuing education every year.

If you are looking for more details on the licensing process, click here.

How much does it cost to get certified to sell insurance in Minnesota?

To get certified as an insurance agent in the state of Minnesota, you should pay these fixed fees:

  • Online Application Fee: $50 per line
  • Technology (Tech) Fee: $25
  • Examination Fee: $39
  • Fingerprint services: $67.25

You will also need to pay for pre-licensing education. The amount of money you will pay depends on the educational institution.
And if you do not succeed on your first trial and fail the state licensing exam, you will need to pay additional $39 for another examination attempt.

What can prevent you from getting an insurance license in Minnesota?

Having committed a crime or an act of felony can prevent you from getting an insurance license. That is why almost every state requires having your fingerprints taken and passing a background check.

Is it hard to get your insurance license in Minnesota?

Getting your insurance agent license may seem difficult, but, in fact, it is not, compared to other professions. You do not need to earn a Bachelor’s or Master’s Degree. A high school diploma is enough.

The only difficulty you may have is to prepare and study well for both the pre-licensing courses and the state licensing exam.

What comes to the exam, many agents confirms that it is easier than they have imagined. It consists of multiple-choice questions. The questions cover general and state section knowledge. You must get at least 70% of the answers correct to pass it.

Seda S

Seda S

Seda has four years of professional experience as a multilingual content writer. She employs SEO principles and rules to come up with original and SEO-friendly articles. Seda also has editing, proofreading, researching, and translating skills, which help to produce better content. She has written a number of articles for a wide range of websites that look for unique and genuine content. She has written targeted content for consumer portions, and she is specialized in writing guest posts, digital marketing, wellness, beauty, and other articles. Furthermore, she has prepared guides and helping materials for websites, which help people seeking licensure in all areas. Seda has also used brand new writing techniques and style based on the article while contributing to readability, accuracy, and tonality.