Minnesota Marriage License

Minnesota Marriage License

If you want to marry and obtain a Minnesota marriage license, this is what you are searching for! Continue reading to find the info you need.

How can I get a marriage license in MN?

Practically, the registration process is easy. First, you must fill out the online pre-application form. This application form requires your personal information, including county, address, phone number, etc. With the help of this application, you schedule an appointment before visiting the county office. Therefore, you and your partner should appear in person at the clerk’s office on the scheduled appointment day.

To complete the pre-application form, you must fill in the following information:

  • your and your partner’s full name
  • full address of both parties (including the counties)
  • age and date of birth
  • Social Security Number

For your information, the Social Security number (SSN) is a nine-digit number. It is usually given to the citizens of the US. Each state’s law requires it. Due to it, you can receive some governmental and official services.

Name change

If you or your partner wish to change your name, you need to mention it on your license application. In the case of changing your name after matrimony, you will be able to do it within the courts.

Those who have a felony conviction in any state should fill in an extra application form beforehand. To obtain that form, you should contact the county attorney. The attorney charges your name change within 30 days. This means you should inform the attorney about the name change at least 30 days earlier.

How long does the process take?

There is no waiting period in case you are an ex-felon. This means that if you have had a felony conviction since August 1, 2000, and want to change your name after the wedding you have a 30-day waiting period. In addition, if you prefer to change your name, you need to ask what the necessary paperwork is. In case you are not an ex-felon, you will get the certificate as soon as you and your partner marry.

It is possible to apply online. The state has an online feature called Minnesota Official Marriage System (MOMS). There, you need to submit your email address, phone number, information about both applicants, and some other details. But note that applying in person is more preferable. If you cannot manage to apply in person, you need to present another application. It is the Supplemental Application for Party Not Appearing to the clerk’s office.

Online Services

Minnesota Board of Marriage and Family Therapy offers various online services. These include duplicate permit card requests, verification requests, certificate renewal, etc. To use this feature, you need to register on their website. After that, you may have access to it. Therefore, you can log in with your username and password any time you want. Except for services, you may find information about COVID-19.

What are the special requirements?

Both parties should be at least 18 years old and they can marry without parental consent. But if either of them is underage (17 or 16 years old), he/she needs the consent of both parents or a guardian. If only one parent has custody, it will probably be enough. In case you are 15 years old or younger, you cannot marry. This process can be done in person or by writing.

Here you are allowed to marry someone of the same sex. You are not allowed to marry relatives with whom you are related by full or half blood or adoption. It should not be your:

  • stepfather/stepmother
  • brother/sister
  • daughter/son
  • grandson/granddaughter
  • uncle/aunt
  • nephew/niece
  • first cousin

Proxy marriages aren’t allowed in Minnesota. You must attend the ceremony as requested.

There are no special residency requirements, as the license will be valid statewide.  In addition, you do not need a blood test beforehand.

Civil Ceremonies

The ceremony must take place in this state. You have the right to choose the person who will be able to solemnize your marital ceremony. He/she must be:

  • any person who’s at least 21 years old
  • a judge from the court of record (or a retired one)
  • a judge administrator (or a retired one)
  • an ordained or authorized minister of any religious denomination

In addition, you should as well have two witnesses to attend your wedding ceremony. The officiant is not allowed to serve as a witness. The witnesses must be 16 years old or older. Right after the ceremony, your officiant should prepare your marriage certificate. He ought to send the certificate to the registrar within five days. Afterward, the registrar records your union. Accordingly soon, you obtain the certified copy from the registrar’s office.

Overall, the certificate contains complete information about your marriage: participants, some details about the officiant, the date and the place of the ceremony, both parties’ names, etc.

How much does it cost?

Minnesota has set rather an expensive fee (if compared to other states, e.g. North Dakota). The license fee differs in counties but mainly, the regular fee is about $110. You are able to save $40 if you and your partner decide to take a premarital preparation course. It is an optional class and after 12-hours of education, the provider declares completion. With the help of it, you might have a discount from:

  • an appointed or authorized minister
  • a person appointed to perform civil ceremonies
  • a person recognized to practice the union and family therapy

Note that the person is required to have the necessary papers and a letter asserting that you have finished the classes. This letter must also be validated by the notary.

You don’t have to pay for a certified copy of your wedding certificate. You get it mailed after the wedding. This means that the fee includes the payment for a certified copy.

Marriage License Renewal

As you may have already heard it expires in 6 months after its registration. If you do not decide to marry within 6 months, you have to reapply. Keep in your mind that you ought to renew it before its expiration date. The renewal is free in Minnesota. It is even possible to renew an expired license without any fee. This may happen in case of a disease or any other conditions.

For more information, you may apply…

Minnesota Board of Marriage and Family Therapy

335 Randolph Avenue, Suite 260
St. Paul, MN 55102
Email: [email protected]

Mari A

Mari A

Mari is a creative and self-motivated person. She is new in content writing, which she thinks improves knowledge and creativity skills. Mari is keen on learning different languages and for her every day is a new chance to learn more. She is responsible to handle multiple tasks on a daily basis.